What Makes a Beverage Kosher?

The global demand for kosher food and beverages has increased steadily over the last five years, with kosher production projected to account for nearly $60 million by 2025. Brands looking to switch to certified kosher beverage production will need to assess their ingredient lists, production processes, facilities, and equipment. Join us as we explore how to produce kosher-certified beverages using natural and synthetic Advanced Biotech flavorings.
The Basics of Kosher Beverage Production
Before you can market your beverage line as a certified kosher range, you will need a rabbi from a kosher certification agency to inspect and approve your product. The three main categories rabbis focus on are the ingredients in the product, the equipment used, and the production process.
Separating meat from dairy products plays a crucial role in kosher production. If your beverage contains neither meat derivatives nor dairy and isn’t heat processed using meat or dairy equipment, it is classified as pareve. Additionally, all plain, unflavored teas and coffees are pareve and do not require kosher certification.
Selecting Flavorings for Kosher Beverages
Natural and synthetic flavorings can be considered kosher if they originate from a kosher-certified source. Your beverage flavorings must be on the approved ingredients list, labeled with the correct name and supplier, and categorized as either dairy or pareve. Here is how to choose kosher flavorings for dairy, alcohol, juice, soda, and sports drinks.
Kosher Dairy Drinks – Beverages containing dairy derivatives, including lactose, whey, and casein, can be kosher if they are not flavored with any animal products. According to Kashruth, any alcohol produced with fermented lactose falls under the dairy category. Common kosher flavorings for dairy drinks include vanilla, coffee, cocoa, and other extracts.
Alcoholic Beverages – Spirits made from grain or sugar are generally considered kosher. Wine holds religious significance, and you must produce it under rabbinic supervision for kosher certification. You can use kosher distillates to create unique flavor combinations typical of flavored rum, vodka, and liqueur.
Fruit and Vegetable Juices – All unprocessed fruits and vegetables are kosher. Grape juice or natural grape flavoring is subject to a strict kosher certification process as it holds the same significance as grape wine. Using synthetic fruit extracts helps prevent cross-contamination between kosher and non-kosher fruit as a flavor source.
Soda and Sports Drinks – Due to strict kosher requirements, producing kosher soda or sports drinks with grape and apple flavors can be challenging. Apples often grow in the same climate as grapes, and many apple flavorings are produced in grape processing plants that may not be kosher certified. Popular kosher soda flavors include caramel, lemon, and orange.
Producing kosher beverages helps you reach a broader consumer base and create a more inclusive brand. At Advanced Biotech, we supply an extensive range of high-quality natural and artificial kosher-certified flavor and fragrance ingredients. We are passionate about helping you bottle beverages that both taste fantastic and meet kosher ingredient requirements. Please contact us for more information.